Daily Archives: November 20, 2010

I don’t have time… and other crap like that.

I’ve realized, it’s not really about finding the time, it’s more about making time. Making time for the things that are important in life. I might not have all the money in the world to change my life, or change my boy’s life, or change the world for that matter. But I can share my time.

I’m a single mom with a full-time job. On top of all that, I’m a professional speaker who books speaking engagements in my “spare time”.  In addition, I like to workout… in my spare, spare time. I want to workout, I enjoy it. it’s good for my body, my brain, my heart, my energy level, my life, my boy’s life… blah, blah, blah, we all know what working out is good for.

 

And I’ve always wanted to do a triathlon…

you know,

when I have time.

 

I had heard about “Team in Training”. I heard about how they team up to train, motivate, support and work together to get everyone to cross the finish line…

all in the name of cancer. (Specifically The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society)

 

but I don’t have time… I’m really busy right now.

 

Then it occurred to me,

I’m sure that every single person who has ever been diagnosed with cancer, or who has had a child, parent, sister, brother, niece or nephew, aunt or uncle, etc. diagnosed with cancer, they too replied:

“but I don’t have time… I’m really busy right now.” … among other things.


So I made the decision that I can make time for something that’s important to me; something that is good for me, on so many levels.

Because right now, today, I am not being told I have cancer, none of my siblings are being told they have cancer.  For now, today, my nieces and nephews do not have cancer. Neither of my parents or my three boys or my aunts or uncles are being told they have cancer… not today, not on this day.


Maybe if enough of us run (or in my case; swim, bike, run)  far enough and fast enough… or just enough.

And maybe if enough of you who choose not to run can sponsor those of us who do…

Then maybe,

just maybe we can prevent those of us who have not heard the words “you have cancer” from ever hearing them.

 

I heard this today at the “Team In Training” meeting and I am going to use it as my mantra throughout this journey… I do this triathlon so someone else can live… but I can’t do it alone… I need to raise $4,000 and I need your help, if I had the money I would donate it all myself, but I don’t… I don’t have anything close to that… but I know together we do.

 

My donation page should be up and running by Tuesday (Nov 23).  This is not going to be easy, and I’m not too shy to say I soooo need help and support getting through this. I hope you will follow this journey with me on my blog. I’ll link new posts to Facebook and on twitter (http://twitter.com/wendy_mccormick).

I know I will get tired, and crabby. I know my body will hurt. I know there will be a day (ha! who am I kidding there will be days, many, many days) I won’t want to train.  Days I won’t want to get up early or workout after working all day. In those moment I will remember exactly why I am doing this. 

 

Please help me by sharing your stories of how cancer has touched your life. I will carry those stories with me while I train and all the way across that finish line on May 1st 2011 in St. Petersburg FL and beyond.

So I’ll do the swim, bike, run part… please do the donating, sharing stories and motivating part. Anyone who has done a triathlon, I will take all the advice and guidance I can get.

 

St. Anthony’s Triathlon is an Olympic distance Triathlon.